Car Seat Information
Common Child Passenger Safety Mistakes
Turning a child from a rear-facing restraint to a forward-facing restraint too soon. American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) now recommends keeping children rear-facing until 2 years old if possible.
Restraint is not secured tight enough - it should not shift more than one inch side-to-side or out from the seat.
Harness on the child is not tight enough - if you can pinch harness material, it’s too loose.
Retainer clip is up too high or too low - should be at the child’s armpit level.
The child is in the wrong restraint - don’t rush your child into a seat belt.
Car Seat Education, Installation Assistance or Questions
Technicians are available to anyone who is needing education about a car seat, assistance with installation, the fit of a car seat or just have a question about their child's car seat or car seat safety. Currently we are not doing any clinics but feel free to schedule an appointment with one of our technicians Monday - Friday, 8 am until 5 pm. Technicians will inspect your child's car seat, look at how your child fits in this seat, provide you with important installation tips, and check the seat for any manufacturer's recall. If you have a seat that needs to be installed in different vehicles we can assist you with the correct placement and installation in each vehicle.
Parents and others who transport children will have the opportunity to install the car seat under the supervision of a trained technician. The technician will also answer any questions or concerns about car seat safety.
Please call Public Health at 507-377-5100 to request an appointment.
Blue Plus, UCare & Car Seats
If you are in need of a car seat and you are on Blue Plus or UCare, you may be eligible to receive a car seat.
Car Seat Class for Licensed Daycare & Foster Care Providers (C.A.R.S.)
If you are a daycare or foster care provider looking for the Minnesota required 3-hour Child and Restraint Systems (C.A.R.S.) training course, this is the class that meets that requirement.
In 2005, Minnesota established a law (MN 245A.18) that requires all daycare and foster care providers in the state of Minnesota to complete a 3-hour child passenger class in order to transport children. (This requirement includes family and group family child care, child care centers, child foster care, and other licensed providers that serve a child or children under nine years of age.)
All classes are taught by certified National Child Passenger Safety Instructors.
This class is held at the Freeborn County Government Center in the Freeborn Room. There is a $25 charge for non-Freeborn County residents. To register for this class call Michelle Severtson at 507-377-5100.